Commissions

So my dad said something to me the other day that really struck me, and it was that I should start doing commissions for people. My only problem is I have no idea how to go about it, and would really appreciate some advice if you could spare any? Below are some of my previous portraits.

Jordan

Imogen & Diwas

Based on these could you give me some advice?

2 responses to “Commissions

  1. I think your dad has a great idea. 🙂 I think a good place to start is to advertize on here. 🙂 I don’t know if you have heard of fiverr.com, that might help you at the start. Post that you do commissions on craigslist.com and maybe print out some leaflets or business cards and hand them to people that you know. Talk, Talk and keep talking to everyone that you know about your new thing! Good luck!

  2. The bottom two are excellent and use the technique and style that I’d suggest for commission work. Maybe I am biased though, because I’m kinda stuck with a 4B and plain white sketchpad, so I appreciate and admire the skill of those who use different media and technique.

    How to proceed? Hmm … maybe ask some family and friends first. Have them display the results in their homes or on Facebook and from there ‘word of mouth’ might do its thing.

    That’s all I’ve got!

Leave a Reply

