The Art of Unfinishing a Portrait

20131021-165927.jpg

Despite my original aim to finish this piece of my boyfriend and myself, the unfinished appeal of it seemed to be quite charming. What do you think?

6 responses to “The Art of Unfinishing a Portrait

  1. I’ve been in this quandary before! It’s such a hard decision to make. It looks amazing so far, and there is something intriguing about its half-finished-ness; but then it might look even more impressive complete… I’m sorry haha, I’m aware this comment is of literally no help. But I’m sure it’ll look great either way ๐Ÿ™‚ Wish I could colour like that!

    • Thank you for your comment! Any comment is always helpful in some way to me and it’s so nice to know that people appreciate my work! I always wonder if things look better when they are completed but then not completing them requires a little imagination! And I think that that is what can make a drawing brilliant sometimes! once again Thank you so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • That’s a good point re the extra reliance on imagination, very true! That may be the way to go. I guess it depends whether you want to really hit home the warm feeling of the portrait or if you want the audience to make their own assertions as to why sections of it are left unfinished.

        But anyway as I said I’m sure it’ll work brilliantly either way! Look forward to seeing what you choose to do.

      • I think due to time restraints I will have to leave it unfinished! But thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment for me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. it looks amazing! I’m sure both ways, completed or unfinished. but personally, I think the unfinished-ness of this portrait makes it look so much more unique and interesting~! I really wish I had such a talent! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

