Confessions of an Architecture student

Architecture was always a bit of an unknown for me. It was never something I had pictured myself doing, but here I am, three years later and at the end of my degree. I’m in a lot of debt, but also in high spirits!

Studying architecture at the University of Nottingham was undoubtably one of the best decisions of my life. This experience has been so incredibly personal to me, and I believe that that is obvious in the way I have grown, and in the style that I have developed over these last three years. I have fond memories throughout, and made friendships I will treasure a thousand times more than my rotaring pens.

So it is with pleasure that I present my final project to you. I hope that you enjoy reading it as much as I did putting it together!

 

The Welbeck Conservatoire : For music & theology

 

 

‘Sing to Him, sing praises to Him; tell of all his wondrous works!’ – Psalm 105:1-2

Christianity is a singing religion. Music and song is a way of expressing faith and adoration towards God.

The Welbeck Conservatoire embraces the importance of music and worship in everyday life. It functions as a music and theology college for long term groups of students, as well as hosting church communities for weekend retreats.

The building itself is designed as an architectural composition. It expresses a crescendo from the living accommodation, through the school, and finally to the worship space, which is the most important and dominant space. A spine of music rooms provide a constant musical dialogue along the building, projecting sound throughout the Conservatoire.

A large courtyard separates the school from the worship space. An informal outdoor performance space is nestled into the hillside. Its backdrop captures the rooftops of Welbeck Abbey, providing a link back to Welbeck’s religious roots.

The main worship space is designed in a way reflects revelation as a conceptual thought. Textured walls and small, dark corridors provide the only way in. Texture emphasises the idea of imperfectness, and that one should feel ones way through the space, rather than rely on the visual sense. It inspires curiosity, and longing towards the light. The space has been designed in such a way that the congregation should not see the musicians. This brings the focus away from the musicians, and back to the essence of worship, and the unity of the congregation.

 

 

Leave a Reply

